Trustees' Letter to the Sioux Falls Community

Viking Bold Campaign for Augustana

Augustana University's Board of Trustees voted unanimously at its recent December 2019 meeting to approve a new strategic plan — Viking Bold: The Journey to 2030.

Dear Sioux Falls Community,

For more than 100 years, Augustana has been proud to call Sioux Falls home. Sioux Falls, throughout its history, has always been bold. Bold in its sense of purpose — inspired, driven and strong on behalf of its people. It’s also the reason why Sioux Falls business and community leaders, in 1918, encouraged Augustana to move to this great city. Since that time, Sioux Falls and Augustana have partnered to serve the needs of the community and transform the world around us.

This is a pivotal moment in the history of Augustana, and the institution’s leadership is taking bold and exciting steps amidst extraordinary change in higher education to ensure, for years to come, that the university produces graduates who are innovative and collaborative problem solvers, leaders, loyal employees and dedicated volunteers. As members of the Augustana Board of Trustees, we proudly endorse the university’s new strategic plan and campaignViking Bold: The Journey to 2030 — which is firmly rooted in our mission of integrating faith with learning and service in a diverse world.

Augustana, over the next decade, will develop and deliver new degree programs to serve more students. The university will amplify excellence through academics, the arts and athletics, promote intercultural awareness and understanding, and continually adopt emerging technologies that will enhance our living and learning environments to attract and inspire future generations of students.

We invite you to join us in this bold journey ... as part of our bold future together. Together we learn. Together we serve. And together, we will empower future leaders in Sioux Falls, the region and beyond.


  • Tom Davis ’83, Chair
  • Jill Weber Aanenson ’93, Vice Chair
  • Pat McAdaragh ’81, Secretary
  • Greg Daniels ’75
  • Steven Dronen ‘80
  • Paul Harmel ’72
  • Rickard Hedeby ’83
  • Dr. Gene Hoyme ’72
  • Melinda Keith Snell ’89
  • Cassandra Kranz ’16
  • Dr. Cheryl Leuning ’72
  • John Lust ’90
  • Lois Martin ’85
  • Ronald Moquist
  • Kevin Nyberg ’79
  • Kristine Kreiter O’Connell ’79
  • James Odland ’77
  • Dr. Mike Olson ’72
  • Laurel Prieb ’77
  • Rev. Nyla Schoeld
  • Keith Severson ’79
  • Nancy Oviatt Titze ’83
  • Deborah Vander Woude
  • Kathy Walsh
  • Rev. Greg Wilcox ’78
  • Todd M. Williams