Quick Facts

students walking on campus

Our Location
The University is located in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, a city with a population of more than 187,000 in a metropolitan area of approximately 270,000.

Our Campus
Augustana’s beautifully maintained, tree-lined campus is situated on 100 acres in a residential area.

Our Students
More than 2,100 undergraduate and graduate students come from 42 states and 35 countries. Most are part of our residential community and call our 100-acre campus home. Our graduate and continuing education programs serve students online and during times that are convenient for adult learners. Approximately 140 international students are enrolled. Students typically enter the University with an average ACT of 25.5 and a high school grade point average of 3.75. 

Our Faculty
Nearly 85 percent of our 144 full-time and tenure-track faculty possess the highest degree in their disciplines. The student to faculty ratio is 12:1 with an average class size of 21 students.

Co-Curricular Activities
Beyond the classroom, we provide opportunities for involvement in more than 100 student organizations and activities, including special interest groups, 19 NCAA Division II athletic teams and 20 performing arts ensembles in music and theatre.

Our Traditions
Major university traditions include Opening Convocation, Viking Days, Christmas Vespers, Community Service Day, Semester Shutdown, the Augustana Symposium,  the Suite Farewell, Family Weekend and the Faculty Gauntlet at Commencement. Ole, the Viking statue in the center of the Quadrangle, is often decorated for special seasonal events. The Green is the large expanse of green space used for frisbee, bonfires and all kinds of student activities. An age-old university tradition — university football — returned to campus after 52 years with the inaugural season in Kirkeby-Over Stadium in 2009.

Residential Life
Living opportunities include six residence halls, six apartment complexes, and theme houses.

Comprehensive Costs
See the comprehensive costs for the 2019-20 academic year.